Websites blocking content if you are using Ad Blocker...

Discussion in 'Computers' started by iamwhatiseem, Oct 10, 2017.

  1. Tinhatter
    Offline

    Tinhatter Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +14
    I could not possibly care less what you do or do not click on, that's "15-post n00b here" (not everywhere), and at least I provided options to OP...whether or not said options work remains to be seen.
     
  2. Marion Morrison
    Offline

    Marion Morrison Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    47,684
    Thanks Received:
    8,046
    Trophy Points:
    2,040
    Ratings:
    +48,091
    Adblock plus and noscript work, idk wtf those links go to. Oh, that one looks promising. The "Behind the overlay" one. Perhaps I jumped on ya too soon, sorry.

    Adblock Plus | The world's # 1 free ad blocker

    NoScript - JavaScript/Java/Flash blocker for a safer Firefox experience! - what is it? - InformAction
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2019
  3. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7,539
    Thanks Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    265
    Ratings:
    +4,637
    Adblock plus is the best thing you can do to improve your internet browsing experience. If a site doesn't like it just choose incognito mode, if the site is worth it you can disable adblock as a one time thing or permanent for each website.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  4. Slyhunter
    Offline

    Slyhunter Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    10,249
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    290
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +5,918
    Why can't I have an Adblock Plus that the site can't detect I'm using?
     
  5. iamwhatiseem
    Offline

    iamwhatiseem Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21,100
    Thanks Received:
    4,376
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    On a hill
    Ratings:
    +12,765
    It's not the site, it is your browser.
    When you go to an internet site, your computer and their server "exchange hands" and introduce themselves.
    It goes something like this

    YOU: "Hi I would like you see your website, I am using Firefox version 10.a with the following extensions a, b, c.
    WEBSITE: "Approved, I am running Apache version 12x, on this page is HTML 5, the site is written in WordPress version 8." I see you are using Adblock, I am going to place a popup and disable viewing

    And that is how it works. In a nutshell
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Slyhunter
    Offline

    Slyhunter Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    10,249
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    290
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +5,918
    So the Browser betrayed me. I want an Adblock the site can't detect.
     
  7. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53,707
    Thanks Received:
    10,209
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    Duke City
    Ratings:
    +32,044
    As soon as one comes out someone will counter it and the cycle starts all over again. The problem is there's too much money in advertising for this to go away any time soon, if ever. So basically you pay a subscription, deal with the ads or don't use the site.
     
  8. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    7,539
    Thanks Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    265
    Ratings:
    +4,637
    On the flipside if your site becomes plagued with adds be prepared to lose users. Gotta make money but I can take my views elsewhere as well. Internet is fun!
     

Share This Page